Puppy Dog Erection

Yes, you read correctly, my innocent little puppy Gus got himself horribly randy last night.

It started off so ‘innocently’. Gus took Ludo’s ‘girlfriend’ muff pup onto the bed, started caressing her slowly on the soft bed (humping like mad)

He got a little excited over something and *boom* there it was! In no time at all he found himself with a raging red erection.

Honestly, both Ash and I went into a bit of shock. Both of us had seen ‘happy boy lipsti cks’ before, but not the full Monty popsicle! My goodness. We both were giggling with laughter as Gus looked down upon himself with a look of awe and confusion on his face. I would of taken a photo – but it might have shocked people too much.

Just so you know the difference – A dog’s “lipstick” hanging out isn’t necessarily an erection. If he were having a true erection, it would be larger….more engorged, I guess you’d say. Just seeing the red rocket isn’t the same as seeing an erection. He just can’t keep in it his sheath.

Now we’re both pretty open and mature people – but seeing something that huge hanging out of my little baby puppy was actually almost offensively grotesque. I think it was when he started licking it that it fell into the ‘grotesque disturbing’ category.

Ash just hoped it wouldn’t get stuck ‘out’ as I’ve heard can happen. He had it for a good 5 minutes before it subsided as quickly as it started.

But it certainly left an impact upon us all. And we thought Ludo was the ‘bigger’ boy!

I decided to do some research into this occurrence, so that all those following in my tracks will know what to do if they DO happen to get themselves ‘stuck’ out.

Here is what I’ve found out:

Apparently, I’m not the only one to be face with this situation. If you want to have a seriously laugh, I highly can recommend reading this thread http://fhotd64476.yuku.com/topic/20692#.TmbVX46uVFs

BEFOREHAND BEHAVIOUR-

“Mounting, thrusting (humping) and masturbation are normal behaviours (PHEW!) exhibited by most dogs. Dogs masturbate in various ways. They mount a

nd thrust against other animals, people and objects, such as wadded-up blankets, dog beds and toys. Sometimes, dogs just rub against people or objects (without mounting them), or they lick themselves.

Mounting is not uncommon in puppies, and it’s generally more of a dominant behaviour than a sexual one – especially if the puppy is less than 6 months old.”

OOPS, DA IT IS-

“The swelling of the bulbus glandis and a possible erection are normal and common occurrences in male puppies (I’d be worried if a female puppy got an erection… obviously). The bulbis glandis lies on either side of the penis sheath and swells with excitement. In a puppy about 3 months old it will be about the size of a small walnut. As the erection subsides the penis will return inside the sheath. No other care is normally needed.”

HOLY CRAP, WHAT SHOULD I DO????-

The below advice I luckily did NOT have to do, as the erection went down by itself. I sent the advice to Ashton so he would know what to do if it happened again, as he’s said ‘NOT IT!’… I said it could become the perfect family activity. He didn’t find my comment half as amusing as I did.

  • Do not use ice in such a situation.
  • Removing the stimulation should resolve the situation.
  • It’s an indication that they need more EXERCISE.
  • Apply plain KY jelly to keep the area moist (allow the penis to retract into the sheath)
  • Apply a sugar water solution. Take a lot of sugar and dissolve in water. Use a wash cloth to saturate the area every 5-10 mins for about an hour.
  • Give your boy a helping ‘hand”

If none of those works, keep the area moist with KY jelly until you can get him to a vet.

THANK Goodness we didn’t have to go through any of those options!

About gusandludo

Ludo and Gus were born on the 12th April 2011. They are both King Charles Cavalier Spaniels. Ludo is Ruby coloured and Gus is Blenheim. A little about Ludo Ludo is the 'adventurer'. Very inquisitive, active and cheeky. Very happy to steal whatever Gus is eating if he can. Cutest trait: If you say "Ludo ludo ludo" he'll cock his head one way and the other. A little about Gus Gus is a lover and a fighter. He'll come up and fall asleep in your arms, give you cuddles and give Ludo a run for his money- running over and jumping on him. This is the story about how we've managed to re-arrange our lives to include these two beautiful boys.
This entry was posted in Gus Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Puppy Dog Erection

  1. Pingback: New Muff Pup for Gus | Yours droolly

  2. louise says:

    omg, thank you so much for this information. i died a thousand deaths when i caught my little man. it was truly a shock. i find relief in knowing that others have experienced the same. :/

  3. Lunda says:

    Ugh this soo gross when its the first time!!!! I was so grossd out i wanted to trow up ew. This is how I discover my 3month old puppy. I was drinking jst to get a little buzz then I was in my room laying down on the floor playing with my puppy I was txtng when I felt he was humping my leg I push him off he kept on going then I saw the full thing jst hanging there ew I ran to the bath room cuz I got this nauseas and while I was in there my first thought was I need to call my hubby omg we need to take him to the vet but by the time I got back to chek on him he was completly fine and everything was back in place but uuugh it was a gross surprise…

  4. kids bikes says:

    Great article! That is the type of information that are meant to be shared
    across the web. Disgrace on Google for not positioning this put
    up upper! Come on over and consult with my website .
    Thank you =)

    • gusandludo says:

      Thanks for the approving comment. Google is only doing their job. I’ve not posted recently (or even close to recently) so they are pushing the ratings down.
      Boys are 2 and a half now, with Gus still regularly ‘loving’ his muff pup. Although luckily we’ve not had a full blown E again!

  5. lisapetrolo says:

    Thank you for this information! I just found my 2 year old German shepherd (intact) with a raging erection. He looked a little distressed and uncomfortable. I talked to him a little bit and walked him around outside. It went back down fairly quickly. Should I be insulted? LOL! Aaanyway! Your information reassured me that this is normal. Especially considering your comment about needing more EXERCISE!!! He’s normally a VERY active dog but he’s recovering from surgery for GDV. I wanted to LIKE your post so I ended up registering with wordpress. Maybe I’ll be able to help some people the way you’ve helped me. :)

    • gusandludo says:

      Thanks for you lovely comment Lisa!
      I’m glad that my experience has been able to help you out. Best of luck with your blog. :)

  6. Heather White says:

    Wow!!! I’ve been having this problem with our puppy too! First time scared the loving tar out me as his testicles were also in full blown sight. I also have a Husky who mounted my Rottweiler and they were engaged for a good while. I didn’t know what to do as my Husky is neutered. So I talked to my wonderful friend who’s name I won’t mention. She had told me that yes indeed my Husky only has what they call a glorified neutering an the muscles to mate were still there.
    He can not get her preggers but he can still do the deed.
    So when you get your male best friend to the vet ask for a full neutering not a glorified one ask them to remove the muscles so that he can not get his wank stuck in another bitches hoo hah.
    I think it’s important for people to know about that as some may also be terrified as I an my kids were.
    Thanks
    Heather

    • gusandludo says:

      Thanks for letting us know! I didn’t realise that when the de-sex dogs they don’t go the whole way. That does make a lot of sense now.

  7. A photo of a puppy penis would not bother me at all. God who made them is in me.

  8. Jules says:

    OMG! This just happened to my puppy and I didn’t know that it could get stuck. It seemed to be stressing him out until I took him outside to move around a bit. That worked to get things back where they belong. Whew! Thanks for posting about this.

  9. Be says:

    Thank you for this post. So good to know this situation is normal. It certainly is scary the first time your little puppy pops out!

  10. Judy says:

    Just found this post had the same shock when it happened to my 6mth puppy,now 7mth each
    evening he humps his bed & the whole engorged lot sticks out for about 5 mins,he does look
    guilty,confused.Tonight for the first time a tiny bit is still sticking out of his sheaf!.
    Had decided not to have him neutered maybe I should.Will this behaviour continue as he
    gets older does anyone know?

  11. Wayne says:

    Hi had my 1yr old bulldog /staff get an erection today and the poor dog looked terrified ,he couldn’t /wouldn’t move for about 10 minutes with his back arched,is this a normal reaction for a first time boner for a dog ?

  12. maura says:

    My puppy is 4 months and it has been about 30 min sticking out yuck!! Will this go down by itself ?

  13. julia says:

    seriously? give him a “helping hand”? bleh, i hope that means something else

  14. What do you do if it doesn’t go back in!? This happened tonight to my 2 year old neutered Labradoodle and freaked me out completely. He was standing on the sofa in an arched position having humped the cushion and he looked terrified. I lifted him down and he just stood there with this bright red thing hanging out of him with what looked like a pair of balls on at the base of it – although I thought a neutered dog wouldn’t have them?

    • gusandludo says:

      Sorry for the late reply Sharon, I’ve been on holidays. What happened to your poor little Labradoodle? Did it go down by itself or what solution did you find? (Suggestions always help for others going through the same thing)

  15. Jessica says:

    This JUST happened to me. I wanted to die. My pup is 3 months old. I called the vet because it didn’t go down after about 5 minutes, and when she said I had to help by wetting my hand with warm water, I prayed that it would go down. Two seconds later, Charlie began licking himself and the little bugger went back in on it’s own. What a relief!

    • gusandludo says:

      Oh Jess, You’ve brought me back the memories of my own panic. :) So glad Charlie was able to sort it out on his own. Thanks for the comment. I’m sure your story will also help others in the same situation.

Leave a Reply

